Senegal – Fed up with being the blacks of…

On July 23 and 27, 2011 thousands of Senegalese made the headlines when they clearly manifested their opposition to the government and the many excesses of the political class. In particular, they protested against a bill giving President Abdoulaye Wade (85) a third term of office and letting his son succeed him.

The protest movement “Enough’s enough” has led an intense campain to call for a change, a mission in which the young people have taken a crucial part.
On 26 February 2012, the 5.3 million citizens registered on the electoral lists were called to the polls. They asked the father of the nation to withdraw with dignity.

 

Mbayang Diaw // Dakar

Mbayang Diaw

27-year-old Mbayang Diaw has an advanced vocational training certificate, a technical diploma, as well as a BA in marketing under her belt, but she finds no job. She has resigned herself to taking an umpteenth job as a secretary trainee, in order to have at least an occupation, pending a more suitable place of work. Just like her, the majority of young people do not know whether they will be able to leave their parents' home to be autonomous. The corruption and the indifference of the elite are the source of their profund feeling of injustice.

Mor Talla Mane // Thies

Mor Talla Mane

Mor Talla is a 26-year-old Senegalese man, who lives with his mother. He currently works as a pharmacy assistant, pending a job that corresponds better to his profile. He is an activist in the social movement «Enough's enough» - a group that mobilises the young generation and protests against the excesses of the government, and makes proposals about the education of the population.

Share – Partager

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

Sénégal – Tayyi Nagnou!/Y’en a marre d’être les noirs de…

Les 23 et 27 juin 2011, des milliers de Sénégalais ont défrayé la chronique en allant dans les rues montrer leur opposition au gouvernement face aux nombreuses dérives de la classe politique, et en particulier pour un projet de loi visant à ce que le Président, Abdoulaye Wade, 85 ans ne brigue un troisième mandat et laisse son fils lui succéder.

Le mouvement de protestation «Y'en a marre» a mené une campagne intense dans l'espoir d'un changement, une mission dans laquelle les jeunes ont occupé un rôle crucial.
Le 26 Février 2012, les 5,3 millions de citoyens inscrits sur les listes électorales appelés aux urnes ont signifié au père de la nation de se retirer avec dignité.

 

Mbayang Diaw // Dakar

Mbayang Diaw

A 27 ans, un BTS, un DTS et une licence en marketing en poche, Mbayang Diaw ne trouve pas d'emploi. Elle s'est résignée à prendre une énième place de stagiaire en secrétariat, afin d'avoir au moins une occupation en attendant une place de travail. La majorité des jeunes sont, comme elle, incapables de savoir si demain ils pourront quitter la maison de leurs parents, être autonomes. La corruption et l'indifférence de l'élite sont les sources de leur profond sentiment d'injustice.

Mor Talla Mane // Thies

Mor Talla Mane

Mor Talla est un jeune Sénégalais de 26 ans qui habite avec sa mère. Il a obtenu un diplôme en délégation médicale, et travaille comme vendeur en pharmacie en attendant un emploi qui corresponde mieux à son profil. Il est militant actif dans le mouvement social «Y'en a marre», un groupe qui mobilise les jeunes et dénonce les dérives du système qui les gouverne, mais qui fait aussi des propositions pour éduquer les populations.

Share – Partager

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn