Palestine – From Gaza with Love... and grief

Overwhelmingly supported by the people, the Israeli leaders launched a new operation on July 8th, 2014 with the aim of destroying Hamas and its rockets. Gaza was bombed day and night during 51 days. On the Palestinian territory of 360 km2, 1.8 million people were trapped in the hell of war. According to the United Nations, more than 50,000 Gazans have lost their house, 30,000 others whose dwelling is considered uninhabitable.

Even before the conflict, the economic situation was dire, the unemployment rate over more than 40%, a financial dependency on the international community and no future for young people. The majority of the infrastructures is destroyed: some neighborhoods have been razed to the ground. How do they get up and continue to live with dignity and resist?

 

Fady Al Sheik Yousef // Gaza

Fady Al Sheik Yousef

Fady, 27, still lives with his parents, three sisters and brother. He obtained a Bachelor of Commerce but is currently unemployed for a year. He tried to open a production company of media communication that was closed by Hamas. During the Israeli military offensive in July 2014, he organized sessions for moral support to the children of Gaza. Financially, he is helped by his father, who works as a taxi driver.

Amani Qassem // Gaza

Amani Qassem

Amani is a 25 years old woman who lives with her parents. She is studying administration in Zawaida, 15km from Gaza. Her father is a retired officer of the Palestinian Authority and Fatah activist. Amani is very active on the issue of Palestinian prisoners in Israeli jails (more than 6,000 today). She follows Palestinian prisoners' families who gather to demand their release. She lost people in her inner circle during the recent war, and has a personal view on Palestinian youth, in a society where unemployment is very high and where young people feel alienated.

Share – Partager

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

Palestine – De Gaza avec amour et douleur

Soutenus massivement par la population, les dirigeants israéliens lancent une opération militaire le 8 juillet 2014 afin de détruire le Hamas et ses roquettes. Gaza est bombardée jour et nuit pendant 51 jours. Sur ce territoire palestinien de 360 km2, 1,8 million de personnes se sont retrouvées prisonnières de l’enfer de la guerre. Selon les Nations Unies, plus de 50000 Gazaoui ont perdu leur maison, 30000 autres ont un logement considéré comme inhabitable.

La situation économique était catastrophique avant le conflit, 40% de chômage, une dépendance financière à la communauté internationale et aucune perspective d’avenir pour les jeunes. La majorité des infrastructures ont été détruites: des quartiers ont été entièrement rasés. Comment faire pour se relever, vivre et résister avec dignité?

 

Fady Al Sheik Yousef // Gaza

Fady Al Sheik Yousef

Fady a 27 ans et vit encore avec ses parents et ses trois frères et soeurs. Il a obtenu une Licence de Commerce mais il est au chômage depuis un an. Il a tenté de créer une compagnie de production en communication qui a été fermée par le Hamas. Durant l'offensive israélienne en juillet 2014, il a organisé des séances de soutien moral pour les enfants de Gaza. Il est aidé financièrement par son père qui travaille comme chauffeur de taxi.

Amani Qassem // Gaza

Amani Qassem

Amani a 25 ans et habite avec ses parents. Elle est étudiante en administration à Zawaida, à 15 km de Gaza. Son père est un officier de l'autorité palestinienne à la retraite et militant du Fatah. Amani est très active sur le dossier des Palestiniens prisonniers en Israël (plus de 6000 actuellement). Elle suit chaque lundi des familles de détenus palestiniens pour réclamer leur libération. Elle a perdu des personnes dans son proche entourage durant la récente guerre. Elle a un regard personnel sur la société palestinienne dans une société où le chômage est très élevé et où les jeunes se sentent aliénés.

Share – Partager

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn